Minions (2015) – Movie Review

Overview

  • Release date: July 10, 2015
  • Rating: PG
  • Rotten Tomatoes review: 54% rotten

Plot summary (from iTunes)

“Ever since the dawn of time, the Minions have lived to serve the most despicable of masters. From T. Rex to Napoleon, the easily distracted tribe has helped the biggest and the baddest of villains. Now, join protective leader Kevin, teenage rebel Stuart and lovable little Bob on a global road trip where they’ll earn a shot to work for a new boss—the world’s first female super-villain—and try to save all of Minionkind… from annihilation. Featuring a soundtrack of hit music from the ’60s that still permeates our culture today, Minions is produced by Illumination’s Chris Meledandri and Janet Healy, and is directed by Pierre Coffin and Kyle Balda. Brian Lynch has written the screenplay for the 3D-CG comedy adventure, and Chris Renaud serves as executive producer of the film.”

My review

As a fan of the minions in Despicable Me, I was excited when I found out Universal would release a movie about them.  Last month I saw Inside Out, which was excellent and heartwarming on Pixar’s part, so I hoped Minions to be just as good. Needless to say, Universal didn’t cut it; Minions wasn’t anywhere near good as Despicable Me and Inside Out combined.

On July 10, my friends and I were ready to go see Minions, a mistake we would soon regret. At first I imagined smiling and laughing at those cute, yellow… things, I should say, on the big screen. I was eager to see it. The movie began with opening credits and the song, “Happy Together” by The Turtles playing in the background. Then it showed how the minions evolved, and how they chose their former evil masters, etc. It was cute.

The rest of the movie, however, was a drag. Yes, there was some action, but stealing a queen’s crown is a common plot among movies with villains. I didn’t smile or laugh at any part of the movie as I imagined I would. Besides, Gru didn’t appear until the very end. The movie was set in the 1960’s, which was fine for my Mom but not for me. My friends didn’t seem to enjoy it, either. With Inside Out, which I saw a month before, I left the theater crying and feeling mixed emotions . As for Minions, I left feeling extreme disappointment. The movie made The Smurfs look better, and I regretted wasting my parent’s money on it.

Recently, I went online and researched some Minions statistics. I was surprised that it made $115 million in one week compared to Inside Out, which only made $95 million in a month. It’s a simple fact: Inside Out (with a Rotten Tomatoes score of 98% fresh) is excellent and didn’t earn much, while Minions (54% rotten) is terrible and earned a lot more. Why? Everyone knows who the minions are; they’re all over the advertising industry. For this, I’m no longer a fan of the minions because they’re turning into an eyesore.

See what I mean?

Conclusion

Minions is an unevenly paced movie that will leave you disappointed. Don’t bother wasting your money on it. Overall, I give this movie 2.5/4 stars. If you liked this movie, good for you, but there are better movies that deserve more attention and income than Minions.

One thought on “Minions (2015) – Movie Review

  1. I am SO glad someone feels the same way I do about the minions! This is an amusing and well-written review. I appreciate the background you gave and impressed by the research (i.e., finding the statistics).
    PS: I loved Inside Out too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

