Divergent by Veronica Roth


The book Divergent by Veronica Roth is 496 pages and takes place in future Chicago. The community is split into five factions who all value different traits. Dauntless who value bravery, Erudite who value knowledge, Amity values peace, Abnegation values selflessness, and Candor values honesty. When you turn sixteen you choose your faction that you want to live in, even if it means leaving your family. The main character, Beatrice Prior, lives in Abnegation with her mother, father, and brother. Beatrice doesn’t think she belongs in Abnegation because she does not feel selfless enough, like her brother Caleb. When she and Caleb go in for their aptitude tests, which is a test that tells the sixteen year olds what faction they most represent, she is surprised to find out that she is Divergent. She learns that being Divergent is dangerous and that the Divergent are hunted by the government. Still, Beatrice doesn’t even know what being Divergent truly means. The story continues on as Beatrice chooses her faction, meets new friends, changes her name, and starts to learn new secrets about the government. I really loved this book and I thought it was a little like the Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Also, if you like the book, the movie is out for Divergent, Insurgent (the second book), and Allegiant (third book) part one is coming out next year. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who has not read it, and if you liked the Hunger Games this book is for you!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s