My Sister’s Keeper

my-sisters-keeper-lg

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult is a 423 page realistic fiction novel told from multiple perspectives. The story is about a family who has a daughter, Kate, with leukemia. The parents, Sarah and Brian, have two children, Kate and Jesse, when they find out Kate has leukemia. They then decide to have another child, Anna, to be a perfect donor for Kate and to keep her alive as long as possible. All her life Anna was a donor to Kate without her even having a say. Anna’s parents then decide that Kate needs a kidney transplant and only Anna can give one to her. Anna then gets a lawyer and files a lawsuit against her parents to have the right of her own body. Throughout the story you learn more about the family’s problems and how the parents seem to only look after one kid. In the end, you also find out the true meaning behind the lawsuit that Anna filed. I thought that this novel was a good book, but it can make you angry because of the way Sarah and Brian seem to only care about keeping Kate alive. It is also sad that Anna’s parents only had her to help her sister, and her name is even short for the constellation Andromeda, who was a sacrifice. This book also has a very sad ending. Overall, I would give this book a five star rating.

2 thoughts on “My Sister’s Keeper

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed reading this blog post of yours! It was so amazing. I just checked out your blog because of this and I couldn’t help but press follow immediately because your blog is both amazing and beautiful! I am so happy I came across your blog. Can’t wait to read more from you, keep it up (:
    By the way this comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

