“The Giver” by Lois Lowry

giverIn the first book in the 4 book series, the main character, Jonas (a child), lives in a community that has no creativity. People are assigned jobs, rules direct the smallest details of everyday life, and lies are forbidden.  The citizens of this community fear the worse punishment imaginable- release. If a person is released, they are exiled from the community  in shame. At least, that is what the governing body, the Committee of Elders, says. Jonas, or any other children, have never been allowed to see a release. At the ceremony that marks the end of one age and the beginning of another for children, children get new responsibility, like getting a bike at age 9. The most important ceremony, and the last, is the ceremony for age 12. In this ceremony, the new 12 year olds get their  job (determined by the Committee of Elders). These jobs are pretty straightforward, except for one, the receiver of memory. No one knows exactly what the one person who has that job does, and it is the job of prestige. At Jonas’s ceremony of 12, Jonas gets selected for this mysterious job. Can Jonas and his mentor save the community from the worst kind of starvation imaginable? Is the community more sinister then it seems? Find out in “The Giver” by Lois Lowry!

Matthew, 7th grade


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s