A Court of Thorns and Roses by: Sarah J. Maas

Summary: A Court of Thorns and Roses is a young adult fiction book that takes place in a world where the earth is split into the human world and the faerie world. Feyre is part of a poor family and every day she goes out to hunt for food to provide for her sisters Nesta and Elaine as well as her crippled father. One day, Feyre accidentally kills a faerie disguised as a wolf in a forest. A few days later, a faerie beast shows up at Feyre’s cottage and is supposed to kill her. Feyre and this beast make a deal for Feyre to live with him in the faerie world for the rest of her life. Feyre soon learns that faeries and the faerie world are not as horrible as she thought.

Plot: Though this book is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, it is very much its own story. The plot of this book is so unique and different and I’ve never read anything like it. This is such an amazing and creative story that was executed perfectly.

Writing: The writing of this book was absolutely flawless. Maas always had me on the edge of my seat and urged me to turn the page. This book is definitely a little bit slow and the beast onky shows up after about 100 pages, but once you get into it, you won’t come out. I actually expanded my vocabulary and learned a lot of new words after reading this book. The world was described so exquisitely and was so intricately woven, that I could see it being made into a movie. I loved Maas’s writing and I will definitely be reading a lot more of her work.

Characters: I really, really liked Feyre, Tamlin, Lucien, and even Rhysand. Maas did an amazing job of making Feyre a likable heroine. I loved all of the characters that I was supposed to love and loathed all of the characters I was supposed to loathe. Every character was so unique and different.

Overall: This was my favorite book that I’ve read in a long time. I would change emotions between pages and Maas did a fantastic job on this book. I strongly recommend you read this book!

-Jasmine

Grade 10

chanelinanutshell.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

