Gabi, a Girl in Pieces

gabi

The summer reading lists provided by the library don’t tend to interest me. Or, at least, they haven’t in years past, though that may have been because I did what you are always told not to do: I judged books by their titles and covers (sorry CCPL!). But at the beginning of this past summer, I was really open to any suggestions so when I received the list, I sat down and looked up every fiction title on Goodreads.

Now, I’m very glad that I did, or else I wouldn’t have found Gabi, a Girl in Pieces, which was written by Isabel Quintero. (I also realized that I should trust the summer reading lists, because the librarians who compile them know what they’re talking about!)

It’s one of those books with an interesting cover that doesn’t make sense until you’re halfway through. A cover that has many people asking you, “What’s up with that cover? It’s so weird . . .” And there’s no way to really answer that question well, not without taking more time than is available, because of all of the meaning imbued in that colored sleeve.

It’s becoming more and more common to find good books that deal with the many issues prevalent in society. However, it’s very rare to run across one that deals with quite as many as this novel did. From teen pregnancy to sexuality to drug abuse (and far, far beyond), Gabi, a Girl in Pieces covers more topics than most books I’ve run across in the past year or so. I really appreciate it because Gabi is very straightforward, and there is no dodging around a subject. She greets it unabashedly, head on, which is refreshing after many books that delicately skirt around such topics, covering them with dense layers of metaphors and euphemisms.

I would recommend this book to everyone – meaning everyone everyone – because it will really help to broaden your world view and will give you insight on diverse topics from a view – that of the witty Gabi, a Mexican American teen aged girl – that might be completely different from your own.

Leave a Reply

