“Love on the Brain” by Rihanna – Song Review

And you got me, let go
What you want from me? (What you want from me?)
And I tried to buy your pretty heart, but the price too high
Baby you got me like oh
You love when I fall apart (fall apart)
So you can put me together
And throw me against the wall

25tmag-11well_rihanna-t_CA0-articleLarge-v2

I’m not a Rihanna fan, but when I heard this first verse of “Love on the Brain” on the radio one day, I was instantly hooked. It was different than her other hits in the past, as her voice was less auto-tuned and a thundering drum made the song’s beat. Though most of the song’s lyrics are repetitive, as usual in Rihanna’s songs, this one had true meaning. It was the first time I heard her sing raw and with power. It felt surreal to me.

“Love on the Brain” is from Rihanna’s recent album from 2016, ANTI, which is good for the most part. “Kiss it Better”, “Needed Me”, and “Desperado” are the only other songs that stand out to me on that album, but personally “Love on the Brain” is her best hit yet. Right when I told myself I wouldn’t buy any Rihanna songs, “Love on the Brain” became one exception. The song from ANTI is less candy-pop and more dynamic than her other hits in the past, which is the new trend in music these days. And I’m definitely liking it so far.

So if you were like me, struggling to find great music from the 21st century, look no further – listen to “Love on the Brain” and your heart will start pounding for more.

One thought on ““Love on the Brain” by Rihanna – Song Review

  1. I’m playing “Love on the Brain” for the third time in a row right now. Fully agree with everything you said! It’s retro and modern at the same time. That organ and bass drum at the beginning…. And the natural edginess of her (real) voice…. I could see Valerie June doing this as a cover (or even Sia).

    I’m not a big Rihanna fan, and never listened closely to much of her music (it was actually my daughter who encouraged me to check her out). But would be great to see a new Rihanna album with more of this quality. Best.

    Like

Leave a Reply

