Another Love Live! Fan Art

Hello everyone! Today, I have drawn and painted another fan art for one of my favorite franchises, Love Live!. Along with the anime, there is also a phone app game called “Love Live!”, where you tap circles to the beat of a song and collect cards of your favorite girls. This angel set of cards was released in Japan, and I absolutely fell in love with the outfits and color choices. (The cards can be found here and here).

This piece took about 6 hours in total, but I did take breaks between working on it. I used a Wacom Intuos small drawing tablet and the art program, FireAlpaca. I knew right from the start that this would be a challenge to draw, since I’m not used to drawing lacey clothing. I also planned on giving the girls serious expressions, which as I have mentioned in my other posts, I struggle with that, since usually draw people with a smile on their face. Lastly, I planned on drawing a background for this piece. Again, I almost never draw “real” backgrounds. As you can see, this art took me way out of my comfort zone. Though I was not used to it, I persevered through it all. When I actually drew the clouds and the sky background, it was actually a lot easier than I expected! This proves to show how trying something new can really result in good consequences.

Of course, there are things I don’t like about this art, like You’s face or the weird lens flare in the background (I don’t know why I did that). There were a lot of things I could have added, like making the line art colors match up to the other colors of their clothes. However, I can see that I have really improved on shading and highlights as well as drawing more details!

In the end, I feel that this piece has helped me conquer a lot of struggles that I’ve had while drawing. I hope I can continue to keep drawing and get better and better. When I get struck with something challenging, I won’t just ignore it. I will try to find ways to fix it. Of course, this one drawing is one of many other ones, but each and every tiny drawing that you make will push you forward on your artistic journey; you just have to make it happen.

Hannah, 9th grade

Leave a Reply

